recomended attractions
KASHUBIA - nature
The oldest pedunculate oak in Kashubia and a Teutonic Knights' border stone
On the outskirts of the village Krępkowice lies a Teutonic Knights' boundary stone, and nearby stands a mighty pedunculate oak known as Świętopełkowy. Its age is estimated to be around 650 years, although some historians are inclined to attribute even 1100 years to it. One thing is certain – it is the oldest oak in Kashubia. Despite its relatively small circumference, about 8 meters, it stands out with very thin growth rings due to growing on dry, barren, and sandy soil. Measuring about 20 meters, the oak looks magnificent especially in late spring and summer when its crown is entirely covered with an intense and dense layer of leaves. A marked educational and nature trail leads to this oak and to the nearby Brody Lake.
KASHUBIA - monuments
Church in Smażyno
The church dedicated to St. Anthony, built in 1865, initially belonged to the Protestant community. Its characteristic feature is an impressive tower with a height of 33 meters, crowned with a pyramid-shaped spire. The Evangelical parish was established in 1862, and Wilhelm Fischer from Bartoszyce was chosen as its first pastor. Currently, the church, originally an Evangelical temple, serves as a Roman Catholic church in the Parish of St. Anthony.
Manor House in Smażyno
Palace of the Wejher family, erected in the mid-19th century in the neoclassical style, underwent subsequent renovations that deprived it of its characteristic stylistic features. This three-story building, originally maintained in neoclassical aesthetics, now presents itself with apparent projections on the sides.
Mill on the River Bolszewka
According to the records from the inspection of 1565, the village of Smażyno, with 9 włókas (a historical measure of land), also had a mill "on the stream with mud, with one overshot wheel." The building and equipment from the 16th century did not survive, and the current form of the mill in Bolszewka dates back to the 19th century, serving a residential function.
KASHUBIA - entertainment
Gifts by television writers and other collections of historical and archaeological museum
The Museum was born of selfless action of local patriots - Lęborskie land lovers. Housed in a historic building from the early twentieth century. This building was erected at the family home of Paul Nipkow, one of the most famous lęborczan, called the father of television - the inventor of the camera used to transmit the image at a distance (so-called Nipkow disk). The Museum is an institution of historical and archaeological profile exposing their collections on three floors. Since the late nineteenth century, they collect memorabilia associated with the history of the region, its sights and people in the collection: ashtrays facial Pomeranian culture, rzabytki crafts, furniture, Gdansk, militaria, medals, coins from treasure coins from the fifteenth century, contemporary art gallery. On the third floor in the office is an exhibition dedicated to the inventor of the image transmission at a distance. The current technique of transferring the image distance is the result of work of many teams of scientists, but the pioneer of this technique was Paul Nipkow. It Sonstruował device called Nipkow disk or drive. The two rotating discs with holes made ​​at the same time along a spiral line, a light source and photocell, which was part of the photosensitive selenium - is the beginning of "mechanical" television. Lived to see the invention of the patent in 1884.Some souvenirs muzum was exhibited in the corridors of the new town hall, and in 1925 arranged in the building of a permanent exhibition of the county. At first the museum was a social and conducted free of charge by local community workers. In 1945 part of the collection was dispersed. The rest gathered in a house standing in the eastern side of the square (Street Młynarska 14-15), where the museum is housed today.
recomended accomodations
KASHUBIA - agritourism
KASHUBIA - apartment