InstagramYoutubeFacebook

Calvary of Wejherowo

monuments
Preview
Preview

Known as the "Kashubian Jerusalem," for three hundred years, it has been hosting pilgrims from all over Kashubia during three annual pilgrimages - from Kościerzyna, Kartuzy, Luzino, Puck, and the Hel Peninsula.

Jakub Wejher, the voivode of Malbork, fulfilling a promise made to God for saving his life during the siege in Belarus, founded and initiated the construction of the calvary, which was later completed by his close associates and the heirs of the founder.

Construction began in 1649, and the entire complex was planned on four hills rising to the south of the city, named Mount Olivet, Golgotha, and Zion. According to local tradition, a handful of soil brought from Jerusalem was placed under each chapel, and the distances between them correspond to the stages of Christ's martyrdom.

The calvary is cared for by the Franciscans, except for the period when their Wejherowo convent was liquidated. Even the Keyserlingk family, who were Protestants, served as patrons of the holy mountains of the city.

In the 18th and 19th centuries, part of the chapels were renovated at the initiative of others. Additional protective work was carried out in the mid-20th century.

• • •

Chapel of the Ascension

Preview
Preview
Preview
Chapel crowning summit of Mount of Olives refers to Christ's Ascension. Oil painting on canvas and painted footprints carved into the floor like a place where they saw the last time the Risen Christ. The chapel was built in the years 1651-1665 was funded Joanna Catherine Radziwill, the second wife of James Wejhera

Garden of Olives Chapel

Preview
Preview
Chapel of Christ reminds stay in the Garden of Olives. It was built in 1653 and founded the Cistercian Abbot Oliva Alexander Kęsowski. About fundatorze provides placed above the main entrance Abbot hat with crosier and inside the chapel of the rosette keystones letters A, M, AO, or Alexander Kęsowski, Abbas Oliviensis (abbot of Oliwa). In the chapel of the images: Christ, who at the time of prayer is sweating blood, and on the sides - the sleeping apostles.

Chapel of the Kiss of Judas

Preview
Preview
Preview
The founder of this small chapel was built before the year 1657 was Jacob Wejher. The interior of the chapel is filled with the entire plane painting, devoted to the theme of the kiss of Judas and Jesus' arrest. The place where the chapel is a family, you can take a look a city with towers of its churches and gaze at the horizon based on the beginning of Darschlubska forest woods.

Chapel of Our Lady Tomb

Preview
Preview
The chapel was built before the year 1658, was founded by Joanna Catherine Radziwiłł, second wife of James Wejhera. It is situated at the foot of the Mount of Olives. Stingy flow of natural light into the interior of the chapel gives the impression of an extended burial niche. Opposite the entrance a glass coffin placed in a plaster statue of the Virgin Mary. On the walls of the two images of the cross adored by angels and the "Dormition of the Virgin Mary."

Chapel of the Kidron

Preview
Preview
Kidron in biblical times separated Mount of Olives from Jerusalem. Soldiers of Christ leading to the city had to go through this pipeline. Chapel bridge over the Kidron and funded by James Wejher not preserved. The existing neo-Gothic chapel was founded in 1860 by Otto Keyserling. Pilgrims attach special importance to the Kidron water in this place, giving it a unique power.

Chapel Gate in Jerusalem

Preview
Preview
Chapel of 1654 years, also known as the Eastern Gate or Gate of Water, was founded by James Wejher. On both sides of the vaults are frescoes depicting the introduction of Christ into Jerusalem and the funeral of the Virgin.

Chapel House of Annas

Preview
Preview
The chapel was built before the year 1654 founded by James Wejher. It reminds bringing Christ to the former high priest Annas, Caiaphas the high priest of the then-in-law. Inside the chapel there is an oil painting depicting the 1952 Christ before the High Priest Annas.

The Cenacle Chapel

Preview
Preview
The chapel was built after 1657 years after the death of James Wejher, refers to the house where Jesus washed his disciples' feet, and ate the last supper with them. From here he went to the Mount of Olives seclusion. Inside the chapel there are oil paintings of "The Last Supper" and the "Dormition of the Virgin Mary".

Chapel of Our Lady of the House

Preview
Preview
The chapel was built in 1660 after the death of James Wejher, refers to the tradition, according to which Mary stayed until the end of life of the Apostle John in Jerusalem and died near the the Cenacle. The chapel is a triptych of a Marian consisting of the scenes: "Farewell to the Mother of Jesus", "The Dormition of the Mother of God and the twelve apostles" and "Assumption". The last picture shows the scene background hills Wejherowo and chapels Sepulchre of Our Lady. In the second half of the nineteenth century, the original building was replaced by the current - not harmonize with the architectural foundation of the Baroque Calvary.

Chapel House of Caiaphas

Preview
Preview
The chapel was built before the year 1654 was founded by James Wejhera. Place of office of the current Jewish high priest, to whom the Holy Thursday brought to Christ. In the lower part of the chapel (basement) there is a stone statue of Christ trapped, above the entrance cock like betrayal of Peter. Caiaphas' house is located in the most Calvary - 112.24 m above sea level.

Chapel of the Palace of Pilate

Preview
Preview
The chapel was built before the year 1654 was founded by James Wejher. The place where he resided, and Pilate judged. The chapel is a unique baroque building in Pomerania on floor plan in the shape of a Greek cross. Above the entrance is a well-preserved bas-relief showing the poly-chrome moment of the proclamation of "Ecce Homo" (Behold the Man). At the foot of the chapel is a small square, which is now at a ceremony indulgence of the Ascension of Christ, is a place of welcome and farewell pilgrimage, coming from the Carthusian and Olive. Who is involved in full celebration of Calvary, goes to the Praetorium of Pilate to Herod's palace.

Chapel of the Palace of Herod

Construction of the chapel began in 1654 with the foundation of Joanna Catherine Radziwill second wife of James Wejher. It is one of the largest chapels of Calvary. Inside there are beautiful seventeenth century altar. The wooden altar set is flat, but thanks to the illusion of painting gives the impression of three-dimensional plane. Image shows Jesus standing before King Herod.

Take Chapel of the Cross - Calvary of Wejherowo

Preview
Preview

The chapel was built before the year 1654 was funded by Cecilia Eleanor younger daughter of James Wejher from his first marriage to Anna Elizabeth Schaffgotsch. Its interior shows the timing of the Cross of Christ surrounded by armed soldiers. Above the figures of the Latin cross plan is a canopy structure with sandstone ornaments and emblems of national actors Pesah. Neo-Gothic brick building to protect the sandstone was built in 1866 thanks to the efforts of the then guardian of.