Jan III Sobieski Castle in Rzucewo


Rzucewo was the residence of the Catholic line of the Wejher family, who had their castle here, destroyed by the Russians in 1734. For three centuries, the Rzucewo estate was connected with the Wejher estate and had the same owners. The properties were separated in 1827 when Rzucewo, through a marriage, came into the possession of the von Below family and belonged to them until 1945. At the initiative of the Belows, an impressive neo-Gothic palace was built on the estate between 1840-45. During the communist era, the estate was transformed into a state-owned farm, and the residence housed a vocational school and agricultural technical college. In the 70s and 80s, the palace changed hands several times as various institutions attempted to turn it into a recreational center. It was only successful when the "Kashubia" Company acquired the residential complex in 1994 and adapted it into an elegant accommodation facility called "Jan III Sobieski Castle."

The palace consists of two basement wings arranged on a common axis. The eastern two-story wing has a layout similar to a square, with elevations framed in arcade panels and a square tower on the side. The western wing is one-story, rectangular, distinguished by a low, octagonal corner tower. It also features an impressive three-arched portico. While exploring the stylish interiors, it is impossible not to notice the intricate network vaulting in the hall. The two-level library in the corner tower is also noteworthy, housing an exhibition depicting the history of the palace.

The park surrounding the residence is much older than the residence itself, as, according to historical records, it was established during the time of King Jan III Sobieski. Allegedly, the king personally planted some trees, such as linden trees, forming a magnificent avenue connecting Rzucewo to the nearby Osłonin, partially preserved in a four-row layout. The park is adorned with noble species of monumental trees, such as plane trees and edible chestnut trees, as well as garden architecture. Among the trees, there is a 19th-century hunting lodge, equally old stables, granaries, and the von Below mausoleum.