Teutonic Castle (XIII-XIV.)in Gniewie


Castle was built by the Teutonic Knights. Start of construction year 1283. In 1464 it was conquered by the armies of Kazimierz Jagiello. During the Polish-Swedish War in 1626, occupied by the Swedes, who re-mastered in the years 1655 to 1656 the castle and the city. The castle was destroyed. In the years 1667-1696 he served as the dignity of the governor Jan III Sobieski here. In 1969, completed construction of the roof and crown of the walls. Rebuilt room adapted socio-cultural načela. In the southern wing included a concert hall, guest rooms, a library and a gastronomic.